Wednesday, 25 January 2017

89th Academy Awards

Broadcast Date: 27th February - Australia

Hello, cinema-goers and welcome to another year of the Oscars, the nominations for the 89th Academy Awards have finally been announced and the ceremony will be hosted by television comedian/host Jimmy Kimmel. The popular movie musical 'La La Land'  has received fourteen nominations, including for Best Picture. It is yet to tie the record with previous Oscar winners like 'Titanic' and 'All About Eve'.

Here are the list of nominees that are in contention to win the Oscars.

Best Visual Effects

Deepwater Horizon - Craig Hammeck, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton
Doctor Strange - Stephanie Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould
The Jungle Book - Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon
Kubo and the Two Strings - Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story - John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould

Best Film Editing

Arrival - Joe Walker
Hacksaw Ridge - John Gilbert
Hell or High Water - Jake Roberts
La La Land - Tom Cross
Moonlight - Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best Costume Design

Allied - Joanna Johnston
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them - Colleen Atwood
Florence Foster Jenkins - Consolata Boyle
Jackie - Madeline Fontaine
La La Land -  Mary Zophres

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

A Man Called Ove - Eva von Bahr and Love Larson
Star Trek Beyond - Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo
Suicide Squad - Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson

Best Cinematography

Arrival - Bradford Young
La La Land - Linus Sandgren
Lion - Greig Fraser
Moonlight - James Saxton
Silence - Rodrigo Prieto  

Best Production Design

Arrival - Patrice Vermette and Paul Hotte
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them - Stuart Craig and Anna Pincock
Hail, Caesar! - Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh
La La Land - Sandy Reynolds-Wasco & David Wasco 
Passengers - Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena

Best Sound Mixing

Arrival - Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye
Hacksaw Ridge - Kevin O'Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace
La La Land - Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story - David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi - Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth

Best Sound Editing

Arrival - Sylvain Bellemare
Deepwater Horizon - Wylie Stateman and Renee Tondelli
Hacksaw Ridge - Robert MacKenzie and Andy Wright
La La Land - Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan
Sully - Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman  

Best Original Song

"Audition (The Fools Who Dream)" from La La Land - Music by Justin Hurwitz and Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
"Can't Stop the Feeling" from Trolls - Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster (Shellback)
"City of Stars" from La La Land - Music by Justin Hurwitz and Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
'The Empty Chair' from Jim: The James Foley Story - Music and Lyric - J. Ralph and Sting
"How Far I'll Go" from Moana - Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda 

Best Original Score

Jackie - Mica Levi
La La Land - Justin Hurwitz
Lion - Dustin O'Halloran and Hauschka
Moonlight - Nicholas Britell
Passengers - Thomas Newman

Best Animated Short Film

Blind Vaysha - Theodore Ushev
Borrowed Time - Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj
Pear Cider and Cigarettes - Robert Valley and Cara Speller
Pearl - Patrick Osborne
Piper - Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

Best Live Action Short Film

Ennemis Interieurs - Selim Azzazi
La Femme et le TGV - Timo Von Gunten and Giacun Caduff
Silent Nights - Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson
Sing - Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy
Timecode - Juanjo Gimenez

Best Documentary - Short Subject

Extremis - Dan Krauss
4.1 Miles - Daphne Matziaraki
Joe's Violin - Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neilhausen
Watani: My Homeland - Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis
The White Helmets - Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best Documentary - Feature

Fire at Sea - Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo
I Am Not Your Negro - Raoul Peck, Remi Grellety and Hebert Peck
Life, Animated - Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman
O.J.: Made in America - Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow
13th - Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish

Best Foreign Language Film

Land of Mine (Denmark) in Danish - Martin Zandvliet
A Man Called Ove (Sweden) in Swedish - Hannes Holm
The Salesman (Iran) in Persian - Asghar Farhadi
Tanna (Australia) in Nauvhal - Martin Butler and Bentley Dean
Toni Erdimann (Germany) in German - Maren Ade

Best Animated Feature Film

Kubo and the Two Strings - Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner
Moana - Ron Clements, John Musker and Osnat Shurer
My Life as a Zucchini - Claude Barras and Max Karli
The Red Turtle - Michael Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki
Zootopia - Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer

Best Writing - Adapted Screenplay

Arrival - Eric Heisserer from Story of Your Life by Ted Chaing
Fences - August Wilson from his own novel (posthumously)
Hidden Figures - Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi from Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Lion - Luke Davies from A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley and Larry Buttrose
Moonlight - Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney

Best Writing - Original Screenplay

20th Century Women - Mike Mills
Hell or High Water - Taylor Sheridan
La La Land - Damien Chazelle
The Lobster - Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Fillipou
Manchester by the Sea - Kenneth Lonergran

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis - Fences as Rose Lee Maxson
Naomie Harris - Moonlight as Paula
Nicole Kidman - Lion as Sue Brierely
Octavia Spencer - Hidden Figures as Dorothy Vaughan
Michelle Williams - Manchester by the Sea as Randi

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali - Moonlight as Juan
Jeff Bridges - Hell or High Water as Marcus Hamilton
Lucas Hedges - Manchester by the Sea as Patrick Chandler
Dev Patel - Lion as Saroo Brierely
Michael Shannon - Nocturnal Animals as Detective Bobby Andes

Best Actress

Isabelle Huppert - Elle as Michelle LeBlanc
Ruth Negga - Loving as Mildred Loving
Natalie Portman - Jackie as Jackie Kennedy
Emma Stone - La La Land as Mia Dolan
Meryl Streep - Florence Foster Jenkins as Florence Foster Jenkins

Best Actor

Casey Affleck - Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler
Andrew Garfield - Hacksaw Ridge as Desmond T. Doss
Ryan Gosling - La La Land as Sebastian Wilder
Viggo Mortensen - Captain Fantastic as Ben Gash
Denzel Washington - Fences as Troy Maxson

Best Director

Dennis Villenevue - Arrival
Mel Gibson - Hacksaw Ridge
Damien Chazelle - La La Land
Kenneth Lonergran - Manchester by the Sea
Barry Jenkins - Moonlight

Best Picture

Arrival - Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder and David Linde
Fences - Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington and Todd Black
Hacksaw Ridge - Bill Mechanic and David Permut
Hell or High Water - Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn
La La Land - Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt
Lion - Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Angie Fielder
Manchester by the Sea - Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Back and Kevin J. Walsh
Moonlight - Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner 

Academy Honorary Awards

Jackie Chan
Anne V. Coates
Lynn Stalmaster
Frederick Wiseman

No comments:

Post a Comment